I had been wanting to read this book for a long time, but never got around to it. It had a lot of hype, so I expected it to be pretty good. But honestly, I didn’t think that it was that good. I’m not sure why so many people have praised the book for being so amazing.

Synopsis: 

So, for those of you who don’t know what the book is about, it’s about a boy named Jacob who is very close to his grandfather while he’s growing up. His grandfather had a hard life, but he didn’t really know the extent of it, because he was always listening to the stories that his grandfather would tell him. Jacob was amazed by them and believes them when he was younger, but as he grows older he just sees them as stories that his grandfather would tell as a sort of fairy tale. What Jacob doesn’t know, is how real they are.

“We cling to our fairytales until the price for believing in them becomes too high.”

So, as Jacob gets older he just thinks his grandfather is losing his mind which is why he told those stories. But, one day he gets a call from his grandfather who is scared because he needs a key, which is the key to the guns that have been locked away. So, Jacob tells his father who makes Jacob go and check on his grandfather with one of his friends named Ricky.

When they get to the house they see that it’s totally a mess. It looks like someone had come in and tried to find something important to steal. But, Jacob knows this is just how his grandfather is just scared because he probably forgot to take his meds that day. So, Jacob goes into the forest to where he thinks that his grandfather must be. And while he’s walking in the woods he just keeps getting this weird feeling. So, walking further into the woods he finds his grandfather laying face down with gashes on his front. Jacob can’t believe this, and is scared. As his grandfather is dying he tells Jacob

“Find the bird. In the loop. On the other side of the old man’s grave. September third, 1940.”

But, Jacob saw something the night that his grandfather died. He wasn’t sure what it was, but he knew that he saw something. Even if his friend Ricky didn’t see, he knew what he saw. He thought that maybe he was going crazy like his grandfather though because the thing that he saw was something out of nightmares.

So, Jacob knows that he now must find this island that his grandfather wanted him to go to. He has to know all the secrets that have been kept from him for so long.

Impression: 

At first I thought that the book would be pretty cool because it had all the weird photos in it, and it was just something so new that I had never seen before. I did really like the story, but some parts just seemed too far fetched, and I didn’t like the ending that much. It just didn’t captivate me like I thought that it would. I’m sure that I will read the next book, because it was set up perfectly for another story, but I just don’t know if I will get around to that very soon. But I think that I just expected more from the book and that was why I don’t think that I gave it five stars.

Characters: 

Jacob: While he isn’t the best character to read from, I thought that he was a pretty decent character. The only thing was that there wasn’t anything special about him, he was just normal. He was pretty sad to read from him sometimess because he just wasn’t that interesting of a character. I wish that they had made him a stronger character then he was. I also felt like the relationship between him and Emma was pretty forced. I mean I didn’t think that there was a good connection between them. She pretty much just wanted him because he looked like his grandfather who was used to be in love with. But for the most part I didn’t connect with him, so that’s one of the main reasons why I didn’t like him that much.
description

Emma: I also didn’t like her that much. I mean I get that she was upset that Jacob’s grandfather had left her, but really? She had so much time to get over him because it’s not like he even came back for her. He started a family with another women and just left her. If that doesn’t shout move on, then I don’t know what does. So, I also just didn’t like her in general, there was just something about her that I didn’t like and I can’t place my finger on it.

The rating that I would give it out be 4 stars. I would have to say that that’s pretty generous because I don’t know if it’s actually worth that in the end. I think that many people can also agree because I don’t see the specular book that this was supposed to be.

