“You could rattle the stars,” she whispered. “You could do anything, if only you dared. And deep down, you know it, too. That’s what scares you most.”

I think that one of the main reasons why I picked this book up in the first place was because I loved the cover of the book. I mean it’s so badass, how can you not pick it up? I mean along with all the other people who read it and said that it was amazing, so that was another reason why I knew that I had to check this book out. I knew from reading the first couple of pages that it would be amazing.

It was a very action packed novel, so if you like those kinds of novels, then this will be perfect for you. I personally love them, so that is why I believe that I liked this book so much. But I think that another reason was the characters. I loved the characters that she had in the book.

Celaena Sardothien- she is the main character in this whole book, and I have to say that she was pretty badass and that I wish that I could be like her. I mean I loved the fact that she wasn’t some girl in distress and that she can really take care of herself, she didn’t need a man. Hell, she could of probably killed all the men in the book. She is also an assassin, and she’s been brought by the king’s son to compete to be the kings assassin.

Dorian Havilliard- He is the crowned prince of Adarlan. At first he seems like this cocky prince who knows that he has everything and that he can take anything he wants. But as he starts to fall for Celaena you can tell that under the cold exterior he tries to have, there really is a nice person who cares about people, especially Celaena. He cares about her well being and also being with her. And I’m a huge sucker for romance.

Chaos Westfall- He is the captain of the king’s guard, and he’s pretty rude from the start. He hates Celaena from the start, but for a good reason. She is a very dangerous person and he wants to make sure that she doesn’t get loose and then start to kill people. I don’t blame him, but the more time that he spends with Celaena the more he starts to realize that he really does like her, even though he knows that he shouldn’t.

“We all bear scars,… Mine just happen to be more visible than most.” 

So, for those of you who haven’t read the book here is some quick back story about it. It’s all about a girl named Celaena who is the world’s more notorious assassin and she’s been chosen by Dorian (the crowned prince of Adarlan) to come and compete to be the king’s assassin. Well, if she competes then she’s promised that she will get her freedom after serving the king for 4 years, which isn’t a bad deal and why she decided that she will take it. I mean she’s been living in a death camp for a year and she knows that if she stays there, she will die. After she says yes, she’s brought to the castle to fight the other people who were picked by their mentors, and she must compete against them in a bunch of different tests. All these tests have different things to do, some are wall climbing, potions, and even horseback riding. There is also a good love story in the book as well. Well, a blooming romance in the novel!

This is seriously a great fantasy book that you will love. You will be transported into Celaena’s world. You will be terrified and excited all throughout the book. There are so many twists and turns in the book that you never know what is actually going to happen.

So, overall I would have to give this book 4.5 stars. It was just so amazing that I loved reading it and I actually can’t wait to read the next book that I have coming in the mail as we speak!

